|A unique design in the wall ensuring that the building imploded if there was a 'problem'. He explained how it worked but ... duh!|
During the 19th century it housed convicts who were used to quarry and cut the sandstone for use on the island and in the town. The strutures so built were used to house gun-powder.
During the 20th century the island was used to house water and police patrols and extensivley as a ship-building dock.
During the 21st century the island will be used as a vehicle to introduce the people of the city to their own history.
|Left: 1870 photographed to the south from the north shore showing Balmain behind the island; |
Right: about 1910 once again from the north shore but this time more in a SEE directon showing Balmain and part of Darling Harbour
There was a need to store the huge quantities of highly explosive black gunpowder used around the town, and the island was perfect. As hundreds of wooden barrels were required for storage, coopers and a cooperage were also required.
|Top Left: the walls and buttresses of the powder magazine;|
Top Right: The cooperage along a hewn sandstone wall
Below: the facade of the Queens Powder Magazine.
|The inside and structure of the magazine. The guide, David, was well informed, enthusiastic and had a great sense of humour.|
|Left: aerial view in 1951; Right: aerial view in 2002|
|The view from Goat Island early in 1930|